:i got a swanson’s dinner in the freezer, wit’cho’name on it

WHOA.

A lot happened today. Well, kind of. I filled out my FAFSA, told my mom I’m not graduating until the Spring… what a GREAT day.

a;lsdkfjals;kdfj

I probably could load my schedule up and get by with 6-8 credits during summer and a 15-18 credit Fall semester, but… I actually want to have a good senior show, surprisingly. I’m starting to care again about my degree. It’s weird. Thank-you study abroad! Pretty sure the Illustration project just made me like life a lot more. I love this doodle-bob technique.. Ahhhh to be an illustrator for the rest of my life, what a dream that would be. Mmmmm..* Oh yeah, the Madre gave me a lot of good advice. I’ll have to take 6 credits of extra classes to stay in the dorms, because otherwise I won’t have a place to live. Yay me! So, we chatted about that.

Then! My family, well my brother mostly, jumped around and shoved his mac’n’cheese in my face. I wish you could slap someone virtually. This place is way better than Wisconsin in so many ways, shoot… I just wish they had some Craft Macaroni and Cheese, haha. Whatevs, I have a cucumber mint dip that is like having concentrated joy in your mouth. So good.

Thank you Lisa, I appreciate it.
Take that, Mac’N’Cheese jerks!! …I still miss it.

ALSO!

First rough draft of ‘Alice’s ADVENTURES in Wonderland’ (dumb title is too long to be elegantly placed on a book…) has been pwned, completed and annihilated, schw-BAM. And even though its super A.D.D. looking right now, I’m going to give it a very cool smoke effect…somehow, so its less busy and the color scheme is going to be sweet…once I figure it out.

So my concept is that you’re looking through a keyhole on the front, and you see the Cheshire Cat in Alice’s clothes, because lets face it, the whole book was conceived after the author had a bad trip on shrooms. Ultimately the smoke is implied that its from the caterpillar toking up, hence the shrooms, again, another reference to hallucinogens, good job Lewis Carroll, and on the back cover we have Alice’s eye peering through looking at Wonderland, in her eye (it’ll be much more toned down and blended, hopefully) are all these reflections of what she’s seeing. The spine, well, it’s the only way I could think of to put the title on there, to fit and to keep in style with the rest of it. The flaps on the inside of the book are similar to the filigree looking elements on the front cover. It’s really busy, not at all simplified… but since our teacher has yet to make an appearance in class, I’m thinking she can’t hold it against me.. hopefully…

One thought on “:i got a swanson’s dinner in the freezer, wit’cho’name on it

  1. mariahfryer says:

    Liz, your drawing was fantastical. I’m super impressed and just a little bit jealous. Had I known your love of the kraft box I totally would have sent you a care package. as it is I doubt it would get there in time now.

    Miss yo face.

Leave a comment